Three Secrets You Need to Possess to Maintaining a Normal Relationship With God

It is very important for brothers and sisters believing in the Lord to maintain a normal relationship with God. Because this is related to whether we can gain the work of the Holy Spirit, act in harmony with the Lord’s will and obtain the approval of the Lord. Then how should we maintain a normal relationship with God? A few days ago, I got some gains and ways to this question through communication on a gospel website, and I would like to share them with you:
Firstly, give our hearts to God and allow Him to take over in all things; pray to God with a sincere heart and have a true communion with Him.

If we want to establish a normal relationship with God, we should first start from praying to God. In most of the time, we don’t have a true communion with God in prayer, nor do we seek God’s will or speak the words in our hearts to Him. We are simply content to abide by outward practices and rituals. Every day, we say morning and evening prayers and give thanks after meals, but we just go through the motions. Sometimes, we spend an hour or two hours in prayer, reciting some Bible verses and uttering lots of words of praise or nice-sounding words in order to obtain the satisfaction of God, or asking God to bestow various blessings on us and so on. Our prayers are not spoken sincerely and we are not having a true communion with God. The Lord Jesus said, “God is a Spirit: and they that worship him must worship him in spirit and in truth” (John 4:24). God requires of us to pray to Him with a sincere heart, speak the true thoughts and difficulties in our hearts to Him, which is just like how we would have a heart-to-heart talk with others. In both cases, there is no deception or crafty intentions. Only in this way will God hear our prayers. Therefore, we should often pray to God like this, so that we can obtain the work of the Holy Spirit and our relationship with God will become more and more normal.
When we speak the words in our hearts to God, we can also pray to Him in connection with corrupt dispositions we have revealed. Such prayer will be more accepted by God. For example, when we succeed in hosting a meeting or solving some problems and difficulties of brothers and sisters, by which we win acknowledgement and esteem from brothers and sisters, we will say in word, “Thank God. That’s because of God’s leading.” But in our hearts, we cannot help taking all the credit, and think that we have done it by our own abilities, so that we become self-congratulatory and steal God’s glory. At the time, if we can lay ourselves open to God and speak our real situation to Him, and we are willing to accept His observation, then we can receive the enlightenment and illumination of God and know the truth of our corruption. When we sincerely pray to God and repent, we will feel peaceful and secure. This is the first condition under which we can maintain a normal relationship with God.
Secondly, quiet our hearts before God every day and have a proper spiritual life; always contemplate God’s word to understand His will.
As believers in the Lord, if we lose a proper spiritual life, our situation will become abnormal and we will suffer from spiritual darkness, unable to sense God’s presence. So, quieting our hearts before God and having a proper spiritual life are important means of maintaining a normal relationship with God. Besides having normal meetings and fellowshiping with brothers and sisters, we should also often quiet our hearts before God and earnestly ponder God’s word, seeking the truth and meditating on God’s love. In this way, we can become closer to God and reflect on ourselves more, so that we can obtain the work of the Holy Spirit and understand God’s will as well as His requirements of us. For example, the Lord Jesus said, “Truly I say to you, Except you be converted, and become as little children, you shall not enter into the kingdom of heaven” (Matthew 18:3). When reading these words, we should quiet our hearts and contemplate, “What’s the meaning of the Lord Jesus requiring us to be honest persons? What should we do to put being honest into practice?” At the same time, we should pray to the Lord as well, then the Holy Spirit will work on us, making us understand that only if we become honest can we receive God’s salvation and enter the kingdom of heaven. God likes the people who are honest. An honest person can give his heart to God and lay himself open to God, speaking honestly and doing honest things; there is no doing business with God, no demand on payment in his expending and laboring for the Lord, and he can put his heart, his effort into doing the work that God entrusts to him, and he doesn’t disguise malice or avoid responsibility, nor does he deceive God or people. … Comparing our own behavior to that, we will search out the displays of our cheating God, then we can seek the principles of practice and enter into them when encountering things. Practicing in this way, we will find that when our personal interests are not at risk we can speak honestly, and that when it comes to matters that involve our own benefit, we will tell lies and use specious arguments and explanations; we make resolutions before the Lord and are willing to devote ourselves to work for God, but when tribulation and persecution happen to us, we will be passive and weak and stop advancing, unable to practice the Lord’s word and obey Him; we say in word that we love the Lord and let Him be the master and decision-maker, but in fact, we always have the final say in all things and there is totally no place for God in our hearts, and our expending and laboring for the Lord is just for receiving His blessings and entering the kingdom of heaven. … At that time, we can have some true knowledge of the truth of our corruption, seeing clearly the impurity in our working for the Lord.
If we often have a true communion with God in spirit or contemplate God’s word, gradually we can receive the enlightenment and illumination of the Holy Spirit and keep a normal relationship with God.
Thirdly, seek God’s will and forsake our flesh to attain obedience to God when something happens to us.
In our life of belief in the Lord, we will face temptations both great and small from Satan every day. It is just as some Christians have said, “The Christian life is a life of experience in spiritual warfare.” Then when facing those Satan’s temptations, especially some matters that we cannot see through, we should always come before God more to seek the truth or fellowship together with brothers and sisters to seek God’s will, then we can practice according to His requirements of us. Only then can we overcome the temptations of Satan and maintain a normal relationship with God. For example, we enthusiastically expend for the Lord and have suffered a lot for preaching the gospel, but when some things that are not in line with our notions, meeting with sickness or being arrested and imprisoned and so on, suddenly happen to us, we will feel painful and sad in our hearts, and we cannot help developing conceptions or misunderstandings about God. At this point, we need to quiet our hearts to seek God’s will, neither judging at will nor doing things blindly. God has said, “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, said the LORD. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts” (Isaiah 55:8-9). God is an all-inclusive God. No matter what God does, there is His good purpose behind it, which is all beneficial to us. We should understand God’s will, obeying firstly and then praying to Him and seeking His will. Unknowingly, we will receive God’s enlightenment and illumination. Just like Job, when he lost his all property and calamity befell his children, and even his body was covered in boils, he didn’t show any resistance, but prostrated himself and prayed to God, quieting himself before God to seek God will. In the end, he said, “Naked came I out of my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return thither: the LORD gave, and the LORD has taken away; blessed be the name of the LORD” (Job 1:21). In the midst of trials, Job forsook his flesh and stood firm in his testimony, which glorifies God and shames Satan. It can be seen that when some matters inconsistent with our notions come upon us, we should quiet ourselves before God more and pray to God, seeking His will and principles of practice, so that we can practice the truth and stand testimony to satisfy God in the trial.
Brothers and sisters, have you learned the above three secrets of maintaining a normal relationship with God? When you feel distant from God and suffer from spiritual darkness, unable to sense God’s presence, why not practice according to the above three secrets to keep a normal relationship with God!

By Zhang Hong

Leave a Reply

你的電子郵件位址並不會被公開。 必要欄位標記為 *

與神保持正常關係,你需要做到的三點

「與神保持正常關係」,這對我們信主的弟兄姊妹來說非常重要,因為關係到我們信神能否獲得聖靈的作工,能否行到主的心意上,得著主的稱許,那我們該怎麼保持與神的正常關係呢?前幾天,我在一個福音網站上交流,頗有一些收穫與路途,想和大家分享一下:

第一點:必須把心交給神讓神做主,誠心向神禱告與神有真實的相交。

我們要想與神建立正常的關係,首先要從禱告入手。我們多數時候的禱告不是與神真實的相交,摸神的心意或者把自己的心裡話向神訴說,而是滿足於守外表的作法、儀式,每天走過程的晨禱、晚禱、飯後謝恩,有時候禱告一、兩個小時,嘴裡背誦一些經文章節,羅列許多空洞的讚美詞彙,把好聽的話說給神聽,來討得神的滿意,或者求神賜給自己各樣祝福等,這樣走過程,有口無心的禱告不是真實的與神相交。主耶穌說:「神是個靈(或無個字),所以拜他的必須用心靈和誠實拜他。」(約4:24)神要求我們用真誠的心向神禱告,把心裡真實的想法、難處向神訴說,就像兩個人推心置腹地說話、交心,裡面沒有欺騙、沒有詭詐存心,這樣真心實意地和神說心裡話,神才會垂聽。我們在神面前常常做這樣的禱告,就能獲得聖靈的作工,跟神的關係也會越來越正常。

我們和神說心裡話的時候,還可以結合我們流露的敗壞情形向神禱告,這樣的禱告更蒙神悅納。比如:當我們成功地主持了一場聚會,或者幫助弟兄姊妹解決了一些問題、難處,贏得弟兄姊妹的認可,高看時,我們嘴上會說:「感謝神,都是神的帶領。」但在心裡,我們會情不自禁地把榮耀歸到了自己的頭上,覺得是憑自己的能力做到的,就自我欣賞竊取神的榮耀了。此時我們能向神敞開自己,向神說心裡的真實情形,願意接受神的鑒察,就能得到神的開啟光照,讓我們認識自己敗壞真相了。當我們誠心向神禱告悔改時,心裡就會感到踏實與平安,這是與神保持正常關係的首要條件。

第二點:每天把心安靜在神面前,有正常的靈生活,常常在神的話語裡揣摩明白神的心意。

我們信主的人如果失去了正常的靈生活,我們的屬靈光景就會不正常,靈裡黑暗摸不著主的同在。可見,把心安靜在神面前,有正常的靈生活是我們保持與神之間正常關係的重要途徑。除了和弟兄姊妹有正常的聚會交通,還要經常把心安靜在神面前,在神的話裡用心揣摩、尋求真理,默想神的愛。這樣,我們與神親近的時候就多,省察自己的時候也多,就能獲得聖靈的作工,明白神對我們的心意和要求。比如,主耶穌說:「我實在告訴你們,你們若不回轉,變成小孩子的樣式,斷不得進天國。」(太18:3) 當我們看這些話的時候,就得把心安靜下來揣摩:「主耶穌要求我們做誠實人的意義是什麼?我該怎麼做才是誠實人呢?」邊揣摩邊禱告主,我們就會有聖靈作工伴隨,明白了做誠實人才能蒙神拯救進天國,神喜歡的是誠實人,誠實人能把心交給神,能跟神單純敞開,說誠實話,辦誠實事;為主花費作工,沒有交易、索取,能盡心、盡力去做好主託付的工作,不藏奸耍滑,不欺騙神,不欺騙人……我們再對照自己身上還有哪些欺騙神的表現,臨到事就尋求原則去實行進入。這樣,我們就會發現在不涉及自己利益的時候能說一些實話,一旦涉及到個人利益了就會說謊話,為自己詭辯表白;我們在主面前禱告立心志,願意奉獻自己為神花費,但臨到患難逼迫時,就會消極軟弱,裹足不前,不能實行主的話,順服主;我們嘴裡說愛主、讓神當家做主,但在凡事上都是自己說了算,心裡根本沒有神的地位,勞苦作工、撇棄花費,也是為了得賞賜、進天國……這時,我們對自己的敗壞真相就能有一些真實認識,看到自己在作工中的摻雜了。

我們常常這樣在靈裡與神真實的相交或揣摩神的話,逐漸地,我們就能獲得聖靈的開啟光照,與神的關係也就能保持正常了。

第三點:在臨到的事上,能尋求神的心意,能背叛肉體達到順服神。

在我們每個信主之人的生涯中,每天都會面臨大大小小的來自撒但的試探,正如有些基督徒說「基督徒的一生是經歷屬靈爭戰的一生。」那麼,面對這些撒但試探,尤其在看不透的事上,我們就要常常來到神的面前尋求真理,或與弟兄姊妹交通共同尋求神的心意,然後按照主對我們的要求去實行,這樣我們才能勝過撒但的試探,與神保持正常的關係。比如:我們熱心為主花費,為傳揚主的福音受了很多苦,但突然臨到了疾病或被抓坐監等,這些不合我們觀念的事臨到,心裡就會感到痛苦難受,不免對神會產生一些觀念、誤解,這個時候,就需要我們靜下心來尋求神的心意,不隨意論斷,也不盲目行事。神說:「我的意念非同你們的意念,我的道路非同你們的道路。天怎樣高過地,照樣,我的道路高過你們的道路,我的意念高過你們的意念。」(賽55:8-9)神是包羅萬有的神,神無論怎麼作都有神的美意在其中,對我們來說都是有益處的,我們應該理解神的心意,先順服下來,禱告尋求神的心意,不知不覺就達到神的開啟光照了。就像約伯在臨到失去所有家產,滿山遍野的牛羊被強盜奪走,兒女遭災害,還渾身長瘡時,他沒有去做任何的反抗,而是俯伏在地禱告神,安靜在神面前尋求神的心意,最終他說:「我赤身出於母胎,也必赤身歸回。賞賜的是耶和華,收取的也是耶和華;耶和華的名是應當稱頌的。」(伯1:21)約伯在試煉中背叛肉體站住了見證榮耀神,羞辱了撒但。可見,在臨到不合我們觀念的事上要多多安靜在神的面前,禱告、尋求神的心意,尋求實行的原則,才能在試煉中實行真理、站住見證滿足神。

張紅

Leave a Reply

你的電子郵件位址並不會被公開。 必要欄位標記為 *