Who Can Gain God’s Salvation

Dear brothers and sisters, peace to you in the Lord! Here we want to share with you how to gain the Lord’s salvation. As we all know, the prophecy of the Lord’s return has already been fulfilled, and the time of His return has already arrived. All the brothers and sisters are eager to gain God’s salvation, but how can we gain His salvation? When the Lord Jesus came to do His work, who followed Him? Why could those people follow God’s footsteps and gain the Lord’s salvation, while some people missed it? Today we will talk about these problems.

Who Had Followed the Lord Jesus and How Could They Follow the Footprints of God

Let’s take a look at Luke 19 about the chief tax collector, Zacchaeus, who was wealthy. When the Lord Jesus was passing through Jericho, Zacchaeus wanted to see the Lord, but being a short man he could not, because of the crowd. So he climbed a tree to see Him. From this we can tell he must yearn for seeing the Lord. The Bible recorded, “And when Jesus came to the place, he looked up, and saw him, and said to him, Zacchaeus, make haste, and come down; for to day I must abide at your house. And he made haste, and came down, and received him joyfully. And when they saw it, they all murmured, saying, That he was gone to be guest with a man that is a sinner. And Zacchaeus stood, and said to the Lord: Behold, Lord, the half of my goods I give to the poor; and if I have taken any thing from any man by false accusation, I restore him fourfold. And Jesus said to him, This day is salvation come to this house, as much as he also is a son of Abraham. For the Son of man is come to seek and to save that which was lost” (Luke 19:5-10). Zacchaeus longed to see the Lord, so no matter what other people said, he didn’t care. From being in contact with the Lord Jesus, he felt the Lord looked upon his heart and showed great mercy and love for him, so he confessed his sins before the Lord. He admitted he was a sinner and willing to repent, saying he would pay back four times the amount if he had cheated anybody out of anything. Because he had a heart of seeking the truth and light, he could repent immediately after knowing that what he had done was not after the Lord’s heart. Hence, he was approved by the Lord, and gained the Lord’s salvation.

Let’s see how Peter receive the salvation. Peter had only heard rumors about the Lord Jesus, the greatest of the prophets, God’s beloved Son, he would like to find Him. From this we can tell that Peter was thirsting for the truth. When the Lord called upon Peter, he left his nets and followed Him. During that time, although the Lord said some words that didn’t conform to man’s conceptions, he still had a firm belief in Him. Just as recorded in the Bible, the Lord Jesus taught in the synagogue in Capernaum, “Then Jesus said to them, Truly, truly, I say to you, Except you eat the flesh of the Son of man, and drink his blood, you have no life in you. Whoever eats my flesh, and drinks my blood, has eternal life; and I will raise him up at the last day. For my flesh is meat indeed, and my blood is drink indeed. He that eats my flesh, and drinks my blood, dwells in me, and I in him. As the living Father has sent me, and I live by the Father: so he that eats me, even he shall live by me. This is that bread which came down from heaven: not as your fathers did eat manna, and are dead: he that eats of this bread shall live for ever” (John 6:53-58). “Many therefore of his disciples, when they had heard this, said, This is an hard saying; who can hear it?… From that time many of his disciples went back, and walked no more with him. Then said Jesus to the twelve, Will you also go away? Then Simon Peter answered him, Lord, to whom shall we go? you have the words of eternal life. And we believe and are sure that you are that Christ, the Son of the living God” (Jhn 6:60, 66-69). Through the verses above, we can see that some people didn’t seek the true meaning of the Lord’s words. Instead, they doubted whether the Lord is God Himself and left. While Peter had seen that what the Lord did came from God and was something no one else could do. He recognized the Jesus is the Lord, the Christ, and has the way of eternal life. Rather than following the crowd, he chose to seek and accept the Lord’s words though they didn’t match man’s conceptions. He put great importance upon knowing God in His work and words. It can be seen that Peter was a sensible man and could accept the truth.

From the two examples above, we can see that Zacchaeus and Peter all had a heart of seeking and thirsting for truth and loved things that were positive. They knew that the Lord Jesus comes from God according to His words and work, so they followed the Lord and gained His salvation. Therefore, knowing God’s work is essential to gaining His salvation. Now, we understand what kind of people can receive God’s salvation. Then we’ll talk about what kind of people cannot gain God’s salvation.

Who Didn’t Gain God’s Salvation

As we know, when the Lord Jesus did His work on earth, many people had seen the signs and wonders the Lord manifested, had seen the work the Lord did, and had known Jesus was the Lord, the Christ, but dared not accept the gospel. Just as recorded in John 9, the parents, whose son was born blind, saw the Lord Jesus had cured their son’s eyes, but the Jewish Pharisees had decided, “…that if any man did confess that he was Christ, he should be put out of the synagogue” (Jhn 9:22). Therefore, when the Pharisees asked them how their son could see, they denied the Lord Jesus because they were afraid that the established and powerful Pharisees would drive them out of the synagogue. In addition, many people once followed the Lord, but when He was on trial in Sanhedrin, they abandoned Him. Though these people had known Jesus was the Christ, they still denied Him. They were even more pitiable than those who never knew Jesus. Besides, most Jewish believers merely followed the instructions of the chief priests and the Pharisees, and refused to accept the Lord Jesus’ work and words. As a result, they missed out the Lord’s salvation. The Bible said, “Then came the officers to the chief priests and Pharisees; and they said to them, Why have you not brought him? The officers answered, Never man spoke like this man. Then answered them the Pharisees, Are you also deceived? Have any of the rulers or of the Pharisees believed on him? But this people who knows not the law are cursed” (Jhn 7:45-49). In name they believed in God, but in fact they believed in the chief priests, scribes, and the Pharisees with no discernment whatsoever. The Jewish Pharisees, though having heard the Lord Jesus’ sermons and witnessed His signs and miracles, only believed that He was just a normal and ordinary man with no influence or fame. So they condemned and resisted Him fiercely and fearlessly. And so, eventually they nailed Him to the cross and committed a heinous crime.

We believers in the Lord all know the way the Lord Jesus preached, the words He expressed, the mystery of the kingdom of heaven He revealed, and His requirements for man, are all truths and the voice of God. They’re the expression of God’s disposition and also what God has and is. The signs that He performed, healing and casting out demons, calming the wind and waves, feeding 5000 men with five loaves and two fish, raising the dead, and so on, these are the manifestations of God’s authority and power, which cannot be possessed or attained by any created being. During that time, the truth seekers like Peter, John, Matthew and Nathanael, recognized the Lord Jesus from His words and work. They found He was the Messiah who was to come and so they followed Him and gained His salvation. They saw that the Lord Jesus’ work and words have authority and power, and are the truth from God. Thus they followed the Lord Jesus, and were not bound by the Pharisees. These people were the ones who truly followed and obeyed God. While those who were timid and fearful, and controlled by people, and those who didn’t seek and thirst for God’s work and words, and condemned His work based on arrogant disposition, had lost God’s salvation. Now We know that we should have an obedient attitude toward the Lord’s words and work and practice in accordance with God’s word, finally becoming the ones who can practice the truth and do God’s will. Only such people are those who follow God and receive God’s salvation. Just like what’s written in 1 Peter, “Who are kept by the power of God through faith to salvation ready to be revealed in the last time” (1 Peter 1:5).

Hope the fellowship above can help us understand what kind of person can gain God’s salvation. May we assimilate what was good from times gone by, and reject what was bad.

By Qiancheng

Leave a Reply

你的電子郵件位址並不會被公開。 必要欄位標記為 *

什麼樣的人能得著神的救恩?

親愛的弟兄姊妹,主內平安!今天想與大家分享的是怎麼才能得到主的救恩。我們都知道,現在主再來的日子近了每一個跟隨主的弟兄姊妹都想得著神的救恩,但怎樣才能得著從神來的救恩呢?主耶穌來作工時,哪些人跟隨了主耶穌?為什麼這些人能跟上神的腳蹤,能得著主的救恩,而有些人卻與主的救恩失之交臂呢?今天我們就來交通交通。

跟隨主耶穌的都是哪些人,他們是怎樣跟上神腳蹤的
Sweet Publishing/FreeBibleimag

我們先來看聖經路加福音19章中記載的稅吏長撒該,他是一個財主,在當時犯了很多的罪。當主耶穌從耶利哥城經過的時候,因為人多,撒該個子又矮小,他就爬到樹上去看耶穌,從中看到撒該渴慕見到主耶穌,主鑒察到了他的心,經文中記載:「耶穌到了那裡,抬頭一看,對他說:『撒該,快下來!今天我必住在你家裡。』他就急忙下來,歡歡喜喜地接待耶穌。眾人看見,都私下議論說:『他竟到罪人家裡去住宿。』『撒該站著對主說:『主啊,我把所有的一半給窮人;我若訛詐了誰,就還他四倍。』耶穌說:『今天救恩到了這家,因為他也是亞伯拉罕的子孫。人子來,為要尋找,拯救失喪的人。』」(路19:5-10)撒該非常渴慕見到主耶穌,所以他不管別人怎麼議論他,都能不受別人的轄制去見主耶穌。通過與主耶穌接觸,看到了主鑒察他的心,並對人有極大的寬容與愛,就在主的面前認罪,承認自己是個罪人,並且願意悔改,不論訛詐了誰的錢財,他要還人四倍。因他有顆渴慕真理、光明的心,與知道自己所做的不合主的心意,能馬上悔改而蒙了主的稱許,得到了主的救恩,脫離了罪的苦害。

我們再看看彼得又是怎麼得著救恩的。彼得在沒見到主耶穌之前,只是聽說過有個叫耶穌的人,道講得很高,他就想去尋找,從這一點看彼得是一個渴慕真理的人。當主耶穌呼召彼得的時候,彼得就撇下漁網跟從了主耶穌,他在跟隨主耶穌期間,主耶穌說了許多不合人觀念的話,就如聖經記載主耶穌在迦百農會堂裡教訓人時說的話:「耶穌說:『我實實在在地告訴你們,你們若不吃人子的肉,不喝人子的血,就沒有生命在你們裡面。吃我肉、喝我血的人就有永生,在末日我要叫他復活。我的肉真是可吃的,我的血真是可喝的。吃我肉、喝我血的人常在我裡面,我也常在他裡面。永活的父怎樣差我來,我又因父活著;照樣,吃我肉的人也要因我活著。這就是從天上降下來的糧。吃這糧的人就永遠活著,不像你們的祖宗吃過嗎哪還是死了。』」(約6:53-58)「他的門徒中有好些人聽見了,就說:『這話甚難,誰能聽呢?』……從此,他門徒中多有退去的,不再和他同行。耶穌就對那十二個門徒說:『你們也要去嗎?』西門彼得回答說:『主啊,你有永生之道,我們還歸從誰呢?我們已經信了,又知道你是神的聖者。』」(約6:60、66-69)通過以上經文,我們看到在主耶穌作工期間說了很多不合人觀念的話,有一些人不尋求主耶穌說這些話的真意,就以自己的觀念想像懷疑主耶穌是神自己的身分,結果就退去了。而彼得因在跟隨主的期間已經看到了主所作的工作是出於神的,並不是人能達到了,認出了主耶穌是主、是基督,有永生的道。所以彼得在主耶穌的說話不合人觀念的時候能尋求、接受,不盲目地隨從大流,他注重在神的說話、作工中認識神,可見彼得是個有理智、能接受真理的人。

從以上的兩個實例中看到,撒該和彼得都有一顆尋求渴慕真理、喜愛正面事物的心,他們通過和主耶穌接觸,能在主的說話和作工中認出主耶穌是從神來的,便跟隨主耶穌得著主耶穌的救恩。從中看到,能認識神的作工對我們得著神的救恩至關重要啊!我們知道了什麼樣的人能得著神的救恩,我們再看什麼樣的人得不到神的救恩。

哪些人沒有得著神的救恩

我們都知道,在主耶穌作工期間,有很多人看到了主所顯的神蹟奇事,看到了主的作工,也知道主耶穌是主,是基督,但是因著他們膽怯就不敢信。就如約翰福音9章記載的瞎子的父母,他們親眼看見耶穌治好了他兒子的眼睛,可是在當時猶太法利賽人商議決定:「若有認耶穌是基督的,要把他趕出會堂。」(約9:22)所以,當法利賽人問他們,他兒子的眼睛是如何看見的,他們因膽怯懼怕有地位、有勢力的法利賽人,怕被趕出會堂而否認、棄絕了主耶穌。還有當主耶穌被抓到工會受審時,當時很多跟隨主耶穌的人也都棄絕了耶穌,像他們這些人知道了耶穌是主是基督,還不接受不跟隨的,那他們比那些不知道的人還可憐。還有猶太教的多數信徒,他們只聽從祭司長、法利賽人的教導,不接受主耶穌的作工說話,結果失去了主的救恩。經文中記載:「差役回到祭司長和法利賽人那裡。他們對差役說:『你們為什麼沒有帶他來呢?』差役回答說:『從來沒有像他這樣說話的!』法利賽人說:『你們也受了迷惑嗎?官長或是法利賽人豈有信他的呢?但這些不明白律法的百姓是被咒詛的!』」(約7:45-49)他們一點分辨沒有,他們名義上信神,實際上信的是祭司長、文士、法利賽人。而那些猶太教的法利賽人,他們雖聽過主耶穌所講的道,看見主耶穌所顯的神蹟,但他們只看見主耶穌的外表就是一個普通的人,沒有什麼勢力、名望,就敢瘋狂地定罪、抵擋,毫無懼怕,最後把主耶穌釘在十字架上,犯下滔天大罪,遭到了神的咒詛。

我們信主的人都知道,主耶穌所傳的道、所發表的說話、所揭示的天國的奧祕,以及他對人提出的要求都是真理,都是神的聲音,也都是神生命性情與所有所是的流露;他所顯的神蹟,醫病趕鬼、平靜風和海、五餅二魚餵飽五千人、讓死人復活等神蹟,也都是神自己的權柄與能力的顯現,是任何受造人類都不具備也達不到的。當時那些尋求真理的人,就像彼得、約翰、馬太、拿但業等人,他們都是從主耶穌的說話作工中認出他就是那要來的彌賽亞,而跟隨了耶穌基督,得著了主的救恩。他們看到主耶穌的說話作工有權柄、有能力,是真理、是出於神的,就直接跟隨了主耶穌,絲毫不受法利賽人的轄制,他們才是真正跟隨神、順服神的人。而那些因膽怯害怕的,好受人轄制的,對神的說話與作工沒有尋求渴慕的心,憑著狂妄性情定罪神作工的人必將失去神的救恩。現在我們知道了,我們只有在主的說話與作工中有一個尋求順服的態度,能按照神的話去實行,最終成為實行真理、遵行神旨意的人,這才是跟隨神的人,才是得著神救恩的人。正如彼得前書裡說的:「你們這因信蒙神能力保守的人,必能得著所預備、到末世要顯現的救恩。」(彼前1:5)

希望以上的交通,能讓我們對什麼人能得著神的救恩帶來一點幫助。願我們能「吸千古之長處,除千古之失誤。」

虔誠

Leave a Reply

你的電子郵件位址並不會被公開。 必要欄位標記為 *